juleswidmayer

Trying to Get Back to Work

In Uncategorized on August 28, 2010 at 9:11 pm

So, as most of you know it has been a rough couple of months for me. I feel better, and with the help of amazing friends and family, I am feeling better than before, and slowly picking up my camera and getting back to work.

I know I am not the only one who feels as though some of the classes that they have taken have “brain-washed” them. For a while now I have felt that if I didn’t take a photo that was sleek, and cliche-indie-like that I was not taking good photos. It took a lot for me to see that I had to go back to square one, and think about what inspired ME to pick up my camera at 8 years old, and not what other people want to see. It is hard to believe that some people have gone into teaching believing that students need to make their work, or work that they like. Where is the true critique there? Anyway, I am working on clearing my mind and making the work that comes from me, and not from the indie-hipster rants of another.

Leave a comment